North East Election results in full

With Labour's election victory already assured, here's how the election panned out across the north east.

Aberdeen South was being closely looked at due to the SNP candidate, Westminster leader Stephen Flynn. He's managed to retain his seat with more than 15,000 votes, but has seen his share of the vote cut significantly compared to 2019. Labour's candidate M. Tauqeer Malik came second and was closely followed by the Conservative's John Wheeler.  The candidates for Reform UK, the Liberal Democrats and the Scottish Greens finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

Aberdeen North has also been held by the SNP, with Kirsty Blackman winning the seat with another sizeable dent in the party's share of the vote. Labour's Lynn Thomson finished closely in second, with less than 2,000 votes between the two. Conservative candidate, Gillian Tebberen, finished third and was followed by Reform UK's Kenneth Leggat, Liberal Democrat candidate Desmond Bouse, the Scottish Greens' Esme Houston and Charlie Abel from ALBA.

The race for the Aberdeenshire North and Moray East seat was one of the more controversial of the election. Leader of the Scottish Conservatives, Douglas Ross, received backlash from his own party for standing for the seat and vowed to resign the leadership and to stand down from Holyrood if he won the Westminster election. He was narrowly defeated by the SNP's Seamus Logan, who has taken the seat from the Conservatives. Reform UK could have made the difference in this race, as they came third with over 5,500 votes.

Gordon and Buchan on the other hand has remained Conservative. Harriet Cross won the seat by less than 1,000 votes after a significant loss in the party's share of the vote. Richard Thomson, the SNP candidate, also saw a dent in the SNP's vote share compared to 2019 despite finish closely behind in second place.  The Liberal Democrat and Labour candidates came third and fourth, each seeing an increase in their share of the vote.

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine is another Conservative hold. Their candidate, Andrew Bowie, won more than 17,000 seats to beat Glen Reynolds, the second place SNP candidate. Labour's Kate Blake finished third with just 55 votes more than Lib Dem candidate Michael Turvey. Reform UK's Brandon Innes finished fifth and William Linegar finished sixth as the Scottish Greens' candidate.

At the time of writing, two constituency results are yet to be confirmed, although it's clear the Labour landslide has caused large-scale damage to the SNP's voice at Westminster, as well as the strength of the Conservatives.

More from North East Scotland News